In March, 1954, at the urging of Cleofas Calleros, the Women’s Department of the Chamber of Commerce undertook the project of creating an El Paso Historical Society.

Since that time we have collected items pertaining to the history of El Paso and have published a quarterly publication, “Password” with historical articles pertaining to the area.

Our Archives include photos, journals, documents, books and more. Learn more

El Paso County Historical Society currently accepting 2023 Hall of Honor nominations

The El Paso County Historical Society is currently accepting nominations for inductees to the 2023 Hall of Honor.

Nominees should be considered outstanding individuals of character, vision, courage, and creative spirit.

They must have lived in El Paso County and have consistently done the unusual which deserves to be remembered or have made El Paso County better for having lived in it.

Nominations are due July 31, 2023 by 11:59pm MT.

To nominate a deserving El Pasoan, please complete the online form found below or by clicking here.

Nominee biographies should be detailed and indicate why the nominee should receive this honor.

You may also email any supplemental materials that you believe highlight the life of the nominee (newspaper articles, publications, letters of recommendation, photos, etc.).


Mail: El Paso County Historical Society, attn: Hall of Honor Selection Committee, 603 W. Yandell, El Paso, Texas 79902

If you would like to send a complete nomination packet via mail, please submit a biography of the nominee and their contact information (or the contact information of their closest living relative) and supplemental materials to the mailing address above.

Please contact us at 915-533-3603 or at ELPASOCOUNTYHISTORY@GMAIL.COM if you have any questions.

Exhibit: Preserving Local History: El Paso County Historical Society 1953-1986.

Preserving Local History: El Paso County Historical Society 1953-1986. Since 1954 the El Paso County Historical Society has been the driving force of the historic scene of El Paso. EPCHS strives to foster research into the history of the El Paso area; share that history with the public; publish and encourage historical writing pertaining to […]

036-1983-021 (2)

The Lorenzen Family Collection: ‘How We Cook in El Paso;

By Joseph Longo This copy of the 1926  cookbook “How We Cook in El Paso”  is part of the  Lorenzen Family Collection. It belonged to Ada Lane Lorenzen, who was an active civic leader and served as president of the El Paso Woman’s Club. She was also a charter member of the El Paso County […]

ada lorenzen

Here’s how Texas women received right to vote and what role El Paso had

Article 1, Section 4 of the Constitution of the United States of America says that the “…Times, Places and Manner of holding Elections for Senators and Representatives, shall be prescribed in each State by the Legislature thereof: but the Congress may at any time by Law make or alter such Regulations…”  Amendment X strengthens state control […]

Womens History Month

Our sponsors

  • WestStar Bank is a Borderplex bank serving El Paso, Las Cruces, and Northern Mexico and the sponsor for the 2020/2021 El Paso County Historical Society Hall of Honor.