Sold out – El Paso County Historical Society to Induct El Pasoans into the Hall of Honor

Ticket sales for Hall of Honor are now sold out. Thank you for your support!

EL PASO, Texas – The El Paso County Historical Society will induct six El Pasoans into the El Paso Hall of Honor on Sunday, Nov. 5, 2023 at 3 pm at the El Paso Country Club.

Among the individuals to enter the Hall of Honor is Raymond L. Telles, Jr., who became the first Mexican American to be elected as mayor of a major American city when he became mayor of El Paso in 1957 and the first Mexican American to be appointed as a U.S. ambassador.  

Other honorees include Belle Christie Critchett, the leader of the women’s suffrage movement in El Paso and a founder of the El Paso League of Women Voters; Lillian W. Crouch, a civic leader and retired El Paso Independent School District administrator who was EPISD’s first African American junior high principal and the first to reach the director level as executive director of human resources; and Charles N. Bassett, president of State National Bank from 1922 to 1944 and the builder of Bassett Tower.  

Rounding out this year’s group of honorees are Patricia Worthington, a local historian who served more than 10 years as the curator for the El Paso County Historical Society and the editor of Password, the Society’s quarterly journal of history, and Richard Worthington, who is an El Paso biologist, educator, and community historian and widely known for his documentation of the flora across southern New Mexico and western Texas. 

“This year, we are humbled to honor six remarkable individuals who contributed to El Paso’s economic growth, political development, and educational achievements,” said Mark Cioc-Ortega, president of the El Paso County Historical Society. “They represent a cross section of El Paso society and a cross section of our city’s history timeline. Most importantly, they represent the very best of what El Paso has given our region and the nation.” 

About the Hall of Honor Banquet 

The annual Hall of Honor banquet began in 1961 to showcase the achievements of individuals who have made tremendous, positive contributions to El Paso history. By asking El Pasoans to nominate their peers, community members, family members, or their ancestors for this distinguished award, the El Paso County Historical Society is helping the community explore its collective past to elevate and amplify the histories of individuals who have positively impacted the El Paso region.   

The 62nd Hall of Honor is sponsored by H-Texas, Freeport-McMoRan and Raiz Federal Credit Union.

Ticket sales for Hall of Honor are now sold out. Thank you for your support!

About the El Paso County Historical Society 

The El Paso County Historical Society was founded in 1954 with the goal of protecting and sharing the unique history of El Paso and the surrounding region including northern Mexico and southern New Mexico. The Society is headquartered at the Burges House in the Sunset Heights Historic District. The Burges House was the home of Richard Burges, a prominent attorney who drafted the first El Paso City Charter and served in the Texas Legislature. 

The Society is an educational and research center, dedicated to sharing knowledge and engaging with the community. It maintains an archive of over 25,000 artifacts in the Jane Burges Perrenot Research Center, publishes historical books and a local history journal called Password, participates in El Paso History Day, and hosts historical exhibits and book talks.  

Follow us on social media:




Since 1954 the El Paso County Historical Society has been a driving force in the historic scene of El Paso. EPCHS strives to foster research into the history of the El Paso area; acquire and make available to the public historic materials; publish and encourage historical writing pertaining to the area; and to develop public consciousness of our rich heritage.