Pebble Hills Elementary: Home of the Bobcats

Pebble Hills was financed by a bond approved by voters in 1979 and in 1980 the Ysleta Independent School District opened the school at 11145 Edgemere Boulevard. A new addition was built to Pebble Hills in 1990 and the mascot is the bobcat.

Walter Cross was the first principal. Cross taught at Marian Manor Elementary and then served as assistant principal at Eastpoint Elementary and Eastwood Middle. In 1973 he was appointed principal at Eastwood Heights Elementary.

Some of the first faculty members were Mary Ann Wiley, Patrica Joyce, Donna Garber, Mary Osbourn, Patricia Pena, Dorothy Hill, Trish Adams, John Whitehouse, Nora Page, Sarah Young and Darlene Cole. Assistant Principals under Cross were Juni Mathews, who went on to serve as the first woman principal at Eastwood High school in 1993 and later served as principal at Montwood High School; Kathy Marcum, Sally Navarro, Ann Ladner, Debbie Burton, and Franke Dungun.

In 1994 Sharon Duncan was transferred from Ramona Elementary to Pebble Hills being succeeded at Ramona by Walter Cross. Cross died in 1994 after fighting a battle with cancer. Duncan was the first principal of Glen Grove when it opened in 1978. She was suceeded by Dona Descamps in 1995.

Another YISD School, Tierra Del Sol Elementary, also opened in 1980 with Aubrey Tucker as Principal. The next year, Desert View Middle opened with M.N. Pike as principal.

I attended Pebble Hills from Early Childhood to Sixth grade from 1996 to 2005. I am a proud Bobcat.

Joseph Longo
EPCHS Curator

Photo courtesy of the Ysleta Independent School District.

Since 1954 the El Paso County Historical Society has been a driving force in the historic scene of El Paso. EPCHS strives to foster research into the history of the El Paso area; acquire and make available to the public historic materials; publish and encourage historical writing pertaining to the area; and to develop public consciousness of our rich heritage.